Showing posts with label iPod or iPhone. Show all posts
Showing posts with label iPod or iPhone. Show all posts

25 December 2012

Eject and disconnect the iPod or iPhone

When iTunes has finished loading songs onto the iPod or iPhone, you can disconnect it unless it’s an iPod you’re using in disk mode (or you need to continue recharging its battery). ITunes displays the message saying that the update is complete and “OK to disconnect.” The iPod displays the message “OK to disconnect.” When you see this message, you can unplug the iPod from the cable or from your computer.

If you’re using an iPod in disk mode, however, iTunes doesn’t prepare the iPod for disconnection after it finishes loading songs. Instead, it leaves the iPod mounted on your computer as a disk so that you can transfer files to and from it manually. When the iPod is in disk mode like this, it displays the message “Eject Before Disconnecting.” In Mac OS X, an icon for the iPod appears on the desktop unless you have specifically chosen to exclude it (see the “Prevent the iPod from Appearing on the Desktop in Mac OS X” sidebar). See Chapter 12 for more information about disk mode.