When
iTunes has finished loading songs onto the iPod or iPhone, you can
disconnect it unless it’s an iPod you’re using in disk mode (or
you need to continue recharging its battery). ITunes displays the
message saying that the update is complete and “OK to disconnect.”
The iPod displays the message “OK to disconnect.” When you see
this message, you can unplug the iPod from the cable or from your
computer.
If
you’re using an iPod in disk mode, however, iTunes doesn’t
prepare the iPod for disconnection after it finishes loading songs.
Instead, it leaves the iPod mounted on your computer as a disk so
that you can transfer files to and from it manually. When the iPod is
in disk mode like this, it displays the message “Eject Before
Disconnecting.” In Mac OS X, an icon for the iPod appears on the
desktop unless you have specifically chosen to exclude it (see the
“Prevent the iPod from Appearing on the Desktop in Mac OS X”
sidebar). See Chapter 12 for more information about disk mode.

